Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 75
  2. Negative: 35 out of 75

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    I was eagerly awaiting this episode as with every season premiere of Doctor who. Unfortunately the new Doctor is so ridiculous it's like watching a children's show. It's even difficult for me to describe the feeling I had when watching this episode. It was almost like I was watching a youtube fan fiction of Doctor Who. All the characters seem flat, the acting is REALLY superficial, andI was eagerly awaiting this episode as with every season premiere of Doctor who. Unfortunately the new Doctor is so ridiculous it's like watching a children's show. It's even difficult for me to describe the feeling I had when watching this episode. It was almost like I was watching a youtube fan fiction of Doctor Who. All the characters seem flat, the acting is REALLY superficial, and it's as if I'm being beaten about the head and shoulders with some kind of B movie scifi/horror rather than a clever Doctor Who episode.
    The saving grace of Doctor Who has always been that even if you didn't enjoy a particular episode or one of the companions, you could enjoy the Doctor, the TARDIS, something. There was NOTHING in this episode to enjoy.
    Ultimately I quit watching it about halfway through the episode because it was so horrible and just returned later so I could watch episode 2 in hopes of it being better. If episode 2 isn't the best episode I've ever seen I don't see myself watching the show again until the Doctor switches up.
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2018
    3
    Very simple -- nice look and feel, very weak story content, weak companions, and too much yak. I have watched both episodes multiple times and like them less every time unlike all of the other reboot episodes. This is not good.
  3. Oct 10, 2018
    0
    I watched this episode believing the hype that this would be the best episode ever, but it was the worst episode I have ever watched of any doctor who series. The script was boring, there were no opening credits, and the acting was wooden. It was a bore-fest! 55 years of Doctor Who and now this pile of rubbish, hopefully they will sack everyone and get some got writers and a good actor toI watched this episode believing the hype that this would be the best episode ever, but it was the worst episode I have ever watched of any doctor who series. The script was boring, there were no opening credits, and the acting was wooden. It was a bore-fest! 55 years of Doctor Who and now this pile of rubbish, hopefully they will sack everyone and get some got writers and a good actor to play the doctor. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2018
    1
    Unforgivably dull. Jodie was fine and will be a totally fine Doctor, as we all knew. But they'll need to pick this up and quickly. The dialogue was stodgy, the characters dry and dull, the storyline did not have the layers we've come to expect from the Doctor. The crime procedural feel doesn't work for the Doctor. It just doesn't. Jodie has all the spark and charm of a Smith Doctor and itUnforgivably dull. Jodie was fine and will be a totally fine Doctor, as we all knew. But they'll need to pick this up and quickly. The dialogue was stodgy, the characters dry and dull, the storyline did not have the layers we've come to expect from the Doctor. The crime procedural feel doesn't work for the Doctor. It just doesn't. Jodie has all the spark and charm of a Smith Doctor and it just seems weird with the dark surroundings. People have talked about Capaldi's talents being wasted by Moffat's convoluted plots. Let's see how Chibnall squanders the grand potential of the first female Doctor. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2018
    0
    No spoilers here - Characters and the plot are not mentioned... Well, the first episode is out of a new science fiction show on the BBC. I watched it really hoping it would be a good program. I went over every detail of this 1 hour and 1-minute show. After reviewing the entire episode and trying to be as objective as possible I found the story was weak and the actual script failed toNo spoilers here - Characters and the plot are not mentioned... Well, the first episode is out of a new science fiction show on the BBC. I watched it really hoping it would be a good program. I went over every detail of this 1 hour and 1-minute show. After reviewing the entire episode and trying to be as objective as possible I found the story was weak and the actual script failed to suspend disbelief and poorly written. To make matters worse, the lead female character has a terrible Yorkshire accent that made many words indecipherable or it was necessary to pause the program to try to figure out what was being said. (to be clear, I have understood Ozzy Osborne's Brummie at times better than this person). If she needs an accent, she should learn to enunciate! The acting on the part of the lead female was not believable at all and seemed overacted at times. This is really consistent with her other work in Broadchurch, Venus or Trust Me so not entirely unexpected. The poor script probably did not help either. The opening was slow but the pace picked up after about 41 minutes. The episode also required a lot of exposition but that was also expected. The violence was also on the higher end and would probably not be good for a younger viewer. The ending scene was not just unbelievable but plain silly. The production and writing crew are completely new and comprised of a majority of females. Now, this really should not matter in any other circumstance. But the obvious feminist overtones are clear and really are distracting from creating a quality science fiction program. Overall this episode was a big disappointment. Hopefully, one day the BBC will see they need to bring back Doctor Who and not this experiment in poor science fiction. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    So far this has been AWFUL. I could hardly watch episode 2, I found my phone more interesting. The worst part is the music, it just gives it no positive vibe at all. it feels horrible. the writing and direction are really bad too. This is not doctor who.
  7. Oct 10, 2018
    1
    I loved Dr Who as I kid but I have found the reincarnated modern version to be very disappointing. Sadly, this episode was no different. I love Jodie Whitaker as an actor and I have no problem with a female Dr Who, but this was just boring. I honestly couldn't give a stuff about any of the secondary characters - they were so dull, and the story had so little substance it felt like it wasI loved Dr Who as I kid but I have found the reincarnated modern version to be very disappointing. Sadly, this episode was no different. I love Jodie Whitaker as an actor and I have no problem with a female Dr Who, but this was just boring. I honestly couldn't give a stuff about any of the secondary characters - they were so dull, and the story had so little substance it felt like it was written during a lunch break. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2018
    0
    New season is not sci-fi show about mad man with a box and screwdriver. This is a SJW garbage and leftist political correctness propaganda. Doctor Who is dead, BBC thanks for nothing!
  9. Oct 7, 2018
    1
    I was really trying to keep an open mind about the direction of Doctor Who. I've been watching since the 1970's and I'll be honest, I suspect some people will flame me for how I felt about this episode, but I'll start by saying that I really hoped it would be good... Sadly, "lackluster" would be overstating how predictable and formulaic this episode was. Apart from a new "Tardis Team" andI was really trying to keep an open mind about the direction of Doctor Who. I've been watching since the 1970's and I'll be honest, I suspect some people will flame me for how I felt about this episode, but I'll start by saying that I really hoped it would be good... Sadly, "lackluster" would be overstating how predictable and formulaic this episode was. Apart from a new "Tardis Team" and the setting, this first episode was almost a rehash/mashup of two beloved episodes "The Christmas Invasion" and "The Planet of the Dead" where an evil baddie randomly kills innocents, and the Doctor needs to work with a bunch of new people to figure out who she is, save the day. On top of that the episode lacked the confidence in the Doctor, so they even felt the need to rehash what the Doctor believes in, as if long time fans would somehow have forgotten, and new fans wouldn't do the homework to figure it out. I truly hope subsequent episodes can put it together, or this new experiment in Doctor Who will be an abysmal failure. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2018
    1
    It commits the worst sin any form of entertainment can. It is just downright boring. Cliched story, caricatures of characters, predictable in basically every way.

    Only positive I saw was some of the visuals in the first 10 minutes, but it seems highly apparent that they blew a lot of the budget out the gate. What is worse is that this doctor is just a knock off of the Tenant/Smith
    It commits the worst sin any form of entertainment can. It is just downright boring. Cliched story, caricatures of characters, predictable in basically every way.

    Only positive I saw was some of the visuals in the first 10 minutes, but it seems highly apparent that they blew a lot of the budget out the gate.

    What is worse is that this doctor is just a knock off of the Tenant/Smith doctor which is the absolute last thing Doctor who needed.

    EDIT: E02

    The visuals of the intro sequence were phenomenal. However the music is off a literal beat. It is nice however to be done with Capaldi's Christmas intro with its jingle bells.

    Episode 2 shows where the show is going. Completely illogical setups and predictable outcomes. For example you can see and connect the episodes "solution" a full 25 minuets before it happens showing how predictable this incarnation is.

    Whitakers depiction is increasingly becoming more ridiculous and scatterbrained. She is practically a companion herself leaving this to be Doctorless Who.

    In the end like most of the visuals, the new Tardis is outstanding, if an odd, eclectic feel. The shame is that long term this doctor is not up to all these slick visuals with the character being written so poorly as an imitation of far better doctors.
    Expand
  11. Oct 7, 2018
    3
    By far the worst first episode for a new modern Doctor. There's a severe lack of originality here, They played it a bit too safe IMO. And honestly, I hate the fact that they are so overly freaking PC. It's like they are beating us over the head with it. It's like they're trying so hard to say "LOOK AT HOW PC WE ARE!" instead of doing it in a way that is respectful and still remainsBy far the worst first episode for a new modern Doctor. There's a severe lack of originality here, They played it a bit too safe IMO. And honestly, I hate the fact that they are so overly freaking PC. It's like they are beating us over the head with it. It's like they're trying so hard to say "LOOK AT HOW PC WE ARE!" instead of doing it in a way that is respectful and still remains tasteful. But don't take that in the wrong way, I really enjoyed the Doctor's new companions, Even more so than Jodie as the Doctor and that was a big disappointment in this episode. Jodie seemed too much like she was just acting a part rather than doing her own original take on a character. Maybe that change moving forward, I don't know. So far though, It's not leaving a good first impression like the previous 4 doctors before her. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Christian Bone
    Oct 10, 2018
    80
    All in all, “The Woman Who Fell To Earth” succeeds as a statement of intent for this brand new era of Doctor Who, telling us that it’s going to be easily accessible, gorgeous to look at and listen to, all about the character drama and brought to life with a lead actress who has a lot of energy. In terms of comparing it to past Who, it’s not a flawless season opener, but it does a terrific job of making us excited for the rest of Doctor No. 13’s tenure.
  2. Reviewed by: Hanh Nguyen
    Oct 8, 2018
    67
    Goofy and curious, commanding and contemplative, Thirteen is already well on her way to demonstrating the complex emotional makeup that is the Doctor. She also demonstrates a cheerful, can-do spirit. ... With the exception of Tim Shaw’s unappealing self, very little about the episode feels Whovian. Gone is former showrunner Steven Moffat’s sense of play, both in the verbal sparring and convoluted storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 8, 2018
    100
    The premiere episode here, “The Woman Who Fell to Earth,” reminded me, more than anything, of “The X-Files,” when it was really good. It takes you back to the days when Doctor Who was a fun sci-fi procedural. ... [The alien] resembles some gleaming villain out of a Marvel movie, which makes his blokey name, Tim Shaw, even more incongruously funny. This is Doctor Who at its best--nerdy and chilling and quick with a joke. And, most significantly of all, generous of spirit, a quality that simply shimmers off Whittaker.