Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 75
  2. Negative: 35 out of 75

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 9, 2018
    6
    I'm not a series veteran, but I tuned into the first ep of this season because I LOVE the lead actress from Broadchurch. The episode just seemed a little scattered. But I suppose that's the tone of the show. Might tune in for another episode- we'll see!
  2. Oct 8, 2018
    4
    Jodie Whitaker is great, everything else is terrible. This is the first dr who episode I ended up skipping through some of the many dull bits. It's boring and the plot is something you'd expect out of a late night syfy channel movie only trying to be serious.
    I ended up bored with the companions of which there are too many (good luck writers). Whitaker deserves better than this, give
    Jodie Whitaker is great, everything else is terrible. This is the first dr who episode I ended up skipping through some of the many dull bits. It's boring and the plot is something you'd expect out of a late night syfy channel movie only trying to be serious.
    I ended up bored with the companions of which there are too many (good luck writers). Whitaker deserves better than this, give her something to work with.
    Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2018
    5
    Unfortunately, the first episode played like a police procedural where a detective and a team of misfits have to stop a deranged serial killer. Jodie Whittaker is spry and energetic, but only time will tell if she will be able to fully create her own stamp on the doctor's indelible quirkiness. The bigger problem with the episode is the overall direction - the cast tries hard but theUnfortunately, the first episode played like a police procedural where a detective and a team of misfits have to stop a deranged serial killer. Jodie Whittaker is spry and energetic, but only time will tell if she will be able to fully create her own stamp on the doctor's indelible quirkiness. The bigger problem with the episode is the overall direction - the cast tries hard but the material is a rehash of earlier episodes. Not terrible, but nothing special or magical either. Doctor Who has always been hit or miss, but if the first episode is the format for the new season, expect Whittaker's tenure to be a short one. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2018
    6
    I've been watching Doctor Who since Jon Pertwee. I'm not sure just what the 'expert critics' were looking at but I wanted to say for starters that I like Jodi Whitaker and I think she may have potential but there are elements of this first episode that made it difficult to suspend disbelief, like how the episode ended. The acting as far as grandma was concerned was somewhat lacking and theI've been watching Doctor Who since Jon Pertwee. I'm not sure just what the 'expert critics' were looking at but I wanted to say for starters that I like Jodi Whitaker and I think she may have potential but there are elements of this first episode that made it difficult to suspend disbelief, like how the episode ended. The acting as far as grandma was concerned was somewhat lacking and the story sped by without the development of characters, also the willingness of the characters to accept the Doctor was hard to believe. I really do hope the emphasis of this new Doctor is not politically correct inclusiveness and virtue signaling. Star Wars has already been ruined I hope Doctor Who isn't next. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2018
    6
    which is a big departure from the Steven Moffat/ Peter Capaldi's era. The show has been given a little "Stranger-Things" vibes and Netflix/ HBO production value.
    Not the best intro to a new doctor though as the series tries to take itself too seriously and lose the sense of wonder, adventure and fun portrayed by the previous incarnation of the Doctors.
    As a long time fan of the Doctor
    which is a big departure from the Steven Moffat/ Peter Capaldi's era. The show has been given a little "Stranger-Things" vibes and Netflix/ HBO production value.
    Not the best intro to a new doctor though as the series tries to take itself too seriously and lose the sense of wonder, adventure and fun portrayed by the previous incarnation of the Doctors.
    As a long time fan of the Doctor Who series, the first episode of the new doctor is weird, to say the least. the structure of the story-telling was unconventional as the writers try to insert mysticism to the circumstances faced by the characters, however, the structure does not adequately attract my attention and starts to bore me a little until the climax (which also fall short of being exciting) which might be caused by the slow pacing.
    All that said, this is only the first episode and Jodie Whittaker performance was great as she portrays more emotive expression and seem to be more emotionally connected with other characters
    . I look forward to more of her interpretation of the doctor.
    Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2018
    6
    I really love Jodi Whitaker as The Doctor, am feeling the Tennant/Smith vibes, has a lot of potential. The companion are just fine, hope they develop more solid in the next episodes. its a shame the writing and the history itself was really mediocre, hope this isn't a Moffat style again.
  7. Oct 14, 2018
    5
    If you compare this 1 first new doctor episode to the other NuWho doctors first episode its in the bottom, if its dead last is a matter of taste.
    When you in the introduction episode of the new companions find yourself hoping the writers will kill them off that is not a good sign, but they could be "benched" or retire so there are still hope.
    New doctor seem bit to close to tennant and
    If you compare this 1 first new doctor episode to the other NuWho doctors first episode its in the bottom, if its dead last is a matter of taste.
    When you in the introduction episode of the new companions find yourself hoping the writers will kill them off that is not a good sign, but they could be "benched" or retire so there are still hope.

    New doctor seem bit to close to tennant and smiths version so far.

    Given its Chibnail who wrote the episode its to drama focused for my taste his a ok writer but really do feel broadchurch is were he shines not as a who writer.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Christian Bone
    Oct 10, 2018
    80
    All in all, “The Woman Who Fell To Earth” succeeds as a statement of intent for this brand new era of Doctor Who, telling us that it’s going to be easily accessible, gorgeous to look at and listen to, all about the character drama and brought to life with a lead actress who has a lot of energy. In terms of comparing it to past Who, it’s not a flawless season opener, but it does a terrific job of making us excited for the rest of Doctor No. 13’s tenure.
  2. Reviewed by: Hanh Nguyen
    Oct 8, 2018
    67
    Goofy and curious, commanding and contemplative, Thirteen is already well on her way to demonstrating the complex emotional makeup that is the Doctor. She also demonstrates a cheerful, can-do spirit. ... With the exception of Tim Shaw’s unappealing self, very little about the episode feels Whovian. Gone is former showrunner Steven Moffat’s sense of play, both in the verbal sparring and convoluted storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 8, 2018
    100
    The premiere episode here, “The Woman Who Fell to Earth,” reminded me, more than anything, of “The X-Files,” when it was really good. It takes you back to the days when Doctor Who was a fun sci-fi procedural. ... [The alien] resembles some gleaming villain out of a Marvel movie, which makes his blokey name, Tim Shaw, even more incongruously funny. This is Doctor Who at its best--nerdy and chilling and quick with a joke. And, most significantly of all, generous of spirit, a quality that simply shimmers off Whittaker.