Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 75
  2. Negative: 35 out of 75

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 9, 2018
    7
    I thought jodie Whittaker made a great first impession as the doctor. The cinematography was great too. I enjoyed seeing the doctor back in somewhere that isn't London. Overall I had a good time watching the first episode.

    But the first episode suffered from trying to introduce too many charaters at once: as well as the doctor and her three new companions, there's two more side
    I thought jodie Whittaker made a great first impession as the doctor. The cinematography was great too. I enjoyed seeing the doctor back in somewhere that isn't London. Overall I had a good time watching the first episode.

    But the first episode suffered from trying to introduce too many charaters at once: as well as the doctor and her three new companions, there's two more side charaters and the alien baddie (who was just another man in a rubber suit). A lot of the dialogue was very on the nose too, probably as a result of the limited time to get everything wrapped up meaning that there wasn't more time to get all the charater quirks across more slowly and subtly. Chibnal did Broadchurch so I know he can write very well. Also I've seen a few eposides of law and order, and now this, and I still can't tell if Bradley Walsh is a good actor.

    I'll try and update my score to reflect my feelings of the whole series once more episode come out, but I thought this was a promising start, but with room for improvement.
    Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    Jodie Whitaker is wonderfully funny and emotive. Yorkshire accents, like bow ties, are cool. The alien creature reminded me of a terminator / predator. It was fun to watch make her own Sonic Screwdriver. The companions provide a good dramatic compliment.
  3. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    classic misogyny pulling the user reviews into the red and low-yellow zone. the premiere is thoroughly enjoyable and Whittaker is fantastic.
  4. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    A strong start for Whittaker and the cast. The writing was fine for most of the episode- Whittaker had some great lines and some not so great lines- but it was at its best near the end of the episode. Chibnall is always good with more human, emotional scenes, so the funeral scene and the scenes after were great. To date, The Power of Three is still my favorite episode that he's written:A strong start for Whittaker and the cast. The writing was fine for most of the episode- Whittaker had some great lines and some not so great lines- but it was at its best near the end of the episode. Chibnall is always good with more human, emotional scenes, so the funeral scene and the scenes after were great. To date, The Power of Three is still my favorite episode that he's written: it's warm, funny, and emotional with a good mystery thrown in as well, but RTD's scripts are still my favorite. They all had so much wit and heart that even if the plot wasn't great, RTD's episodes were still wildly entertaining. Still, the script here works well for what it sets out to do.

    Jamie Child's direction is good- there are some good visuals in the episode and I liked how the camera moved with the characters on many occasions- but not on par with the likes of Rachel Talalay or Nick Hurran (yet). I'm excited to see what this series has in store for us, and it's really only up from here!
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2018
    10
    Jodie Whittaker is fantastic as The Doctor.
    Jodie Whittaker is The Doctor.
  6. Oct 16, 2018
    7
    I have watched the first 2 episodes. So far, it isn't bad but does fall into the same mediocre trappings of previous series. The 'monsters' in the second episode, turn out to be old sentient rags. Literally pieces of cloth. They are defeated in an uninspired way, they set up the way to defeat these rags from very early on making it very predictable and when it happens, it turns out to beI have watched the first 2 episodes. So far, it isn't bad but does fall into the same mediocre trappings of previous series. The 'monsters' in the second episode, turn out to be old sentient rags. Literally pieces of cloth. They are defeated in an uninspired way, they set up the way to defeat these rags from very early on making it very predictable and when it happens, it turns out to be rather lame and unrealistic. In the final moments they face defeat in a very lame way, that is instantly resolved by talking to a villain and then face defeat again in a very predictable way that is resolved by, waiting for a moment and realizing things are not so hopeless. To be fair, this terrible writing is standard fair for Dr Who since 2005 and before.

    The new actor, Jodie Whittaker, is one of my favorite British actresses and has proven herself in other film and TV roles. As the Doctor, so far she is as good as or better than the last few, not quite as impressive as Tennant yet but I hope she is lucky enough to get some quality scripts so that she can put her talents to good use.

    The 'companions'are poorly cast rejects from BBC children's television. For some reason the old White men at the BBC think that a range of ethnicities, a learning difficulty and an old person qualifies as diversity, and being a bit old or having skin that is different to a lot of other people where you live, counts as characterization. There is the obligatory crude attempt at gender politics in which a man and a woman have a race. The woman unsurprisingly wins but chooses to assist the man. The man is stereotypically characterized as a person who smokes cigars and sleeps while the woman feels the need to drop into conversation that she is homosexual for no reason other than checking a diversity box.

    The teaser for episode 3 shows that the Doctor visits Rosa Parks, which is clearly going to be a disaster of an episode. I will watch it, like someone watches a traffic accident, knowing you wont be able to unsee it, knowing nothing good can come of it but oddly interested in how bad it could possibly be.

    I hope that the biggest British SciFi show ever remembers to prioritize the SciFi over preaching this unconvincing social politics. The BBC is an elitist oligarchical institution that clearly doesn't subscribe to the values it tries to placate the subordinate masses with and it shows. Big positives so far are the new design of the TARDIS and all of time and space not being restricted to depicting people and places in present day London. I have hope for this series but not a lot.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Christian Bone
    Oct 10, 2018
    80
    All in all, “The Woman Who Fell To Earth” succeeds as a statement of intent for this brand new era of Doctor Who, telling us that it’s going to be easily accessible, gorgeous to look at and listen to, all about the character drama and brought to life with a lead actress who has a lot of energy. In terms of comparing it to past Who, it’s not a flawless season opener, but it does a terrific job of making us excited for the rest of Doctor No. 13’s tenure.
  2. Reviewed by: Hanh Nguyen
    Oct 8, 2018
    67
    Goofy and curious, commanding and contemplative, Thirteen is already well on her way to demonstrating the complex emotional makeup that is the Doctor. She also demonstrates a cheerful, can-do spirit. ... With the exception of Tim Shaw’s unappealing self, very little about the episode feels Whovian. Gone is former showrunner Steven Moffat’s sense of play, both in the verbal sparring and convoluted storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 8, 2018
    100
    The premiere episode here, “The Woman Who Fell to Earth,” reminded me, more than anything, of “The X-Files,” when it was really good. It takes you back to the days when Doctor Who was a fun sci-fi procedural. ... [The alien] resembles some gleaming villain out of a Marvel movie, which makes his blokey name, Tim Shaw, even more incongruously funny. This is Doctor Who at its best--nerdy and chilling and quick with a joke. And, most significantly of all, generous of spirit, a quality that simply shimmers off Whittaker.